Real journalism. Local. Powerful.

NewsMatch will double your donation during November and December!

Salish Current brings light — not heat — to civic discussions in Washington state’s Whatcom, San Juan and Skagit communities. We’re a nonpartisan, open-access nonprofit, launched in February 2020, whose journalists report local news with independence and integrity.

Supported by local donors and funders, we provide information vital to residents of Whatcom, San Juan and Skagit counties to be better engaged citizens, and to support an equitable, vibrant community.

Your financial support helps to pay professional journalists to research and report (our editors, board members and community advisors all are volunteers).

With a gift of $120 per year or more, you will receive a weekly newsletter featuring our latest news stories along with curated local stories from other news publications. Any level of support is most appreciated!

Donate online above, or send your check to:

Salish Current
772 Mahonia Drive
Bellingham WA 98229 

Thank you for your support of local journalism to help strengthen our community! 

— Amy Nelson, Publisher

Salish Current (UBI 604618885 001 001) is incorporated as a nonprofit in the state of Washington and has an active application for 501(c)(3) status under consideration by the IRS. Under our fiscal sponsor partnership with the Institute for Nonprofit News, a 501(c)(3) corporation, your donation may be eligible for applicable tax deduction.

We thank our donors for their financial support!

Foundation and Business Supporters


  • Winnie Adams and Robert Gamble
  • Jacqueline Allison
  • Jill Bernstein
  • John Binns and Julie Fleetwood
  • John Blethen
  • Andrea and Russ Borgmann
  • Mary Campbell
  • Jean Carmean
  • Constance Cogburn and Andrew Day
  • Joanne Colman Wester
  • Joan Connell and Dean Wright
  • Stacey Crockett
  • Carolyn Dale
  • Nancy DeVaux
  • David and Bonnie Dick
  • Bruce and Claudia Disend
  • Jennifer and Tom Dolese
  • Tim Dustrude / San Juan Island Update
  • Marian Exall
  • Kathy Fletcher and Ken Weiner
  • Jayne and Bill Freudenberger / In honor of Dick and Joan Beardsley, who believed so strongly in a vibrant local press
  • Alan Fritzberg and Lisbeth Hadden Fritzberg
  • Elizabeth Gross
  • Peter Haase
  • Eleanor Hartmann
  • Elsie Heinrick
  • Gene Helfman
  • Eric Hirst
  • Kelli Hoisington
  • Mark Holzband
  • Shaun Hubbard and Harold Kawaguchi
  • Phil Humphries and Cynthia St. Clair
  • Steven James / In memory of Tom Villa-Lovos
  • Hank Kastner
  • Edwina Kleeman
  • Laura Laffrado
  • Marge Laidlaw
  • Sheri Lambert
  • Jackie Landsem
  • Leslie Langdon
  • James Loucky
  • Cindy Madigan
  • Marybeth Manning and George Schmidt
  • Robert McClure
  • Floyd and Dixie McKay
  • Sue Ming
  • Christopher Moench
  • Sue Moon
  • Theresa Morrow and Bill Ristow
  • Ellyn Murphy
  • John and Barbara Nason
  • Amy Nelson and Mike Sato
  • Edwina Norton
  • Ann S. Osterberg / In memory of Ken and Elsie Sato and the Island Record
  • Ron Polinder
  • Scott Powell
  • Boyd and Lovel Pratt
  • Geoffrey T. Prentiss
  • Dan Raas
  • Allison Roberts
  • Chuck and Dee Robinson
  • Barbara Rofkar
  • Lee Rolfe and Tony Angell / In remembrance of Robert Simmons, practitioner of fine journalism
  • Barbara and Mike Ryan
  • Carolyn Salzmann (Becky H.)
  • Sibyl Sanford
  • Andrew Schreer
  • Martha Scott
  • Mary Francell-Sharfstein and Howard Sharfstein
  • Kathy Sheehan
  • Janet Simpson
  • Sarah Spotts
  • Daneet Steffens and Alan Brewis
  • Ingrid Taylor
  • Janice Walker
  • John Watts
  • Jim Wavada / In honor of my good friend Bev Hauptli, a great reporter, a friend of the northern tribes and a beautiful spirit who left us too soon
  • John and Kathryn Whitmer
  • Ted Wolf and Susan McKay
  • Susan Wood
  • Anonymous (13)